Congratulations to our 2018 Pinn Scholars

December 13, 2017 by School of Medicine Webmaster   |   Leave a Comment

2018 Pinn Scholars (l-r): Alison K. Criss, PhD; Scott K. Heysell, MD, MPH; Benjamin W. Purow, MD; and Jeffrey J. Saucerman, PhD.

The Pinn Scholars program, which started last year, is an initiative born from strategic planning to support and recognize our mid-level faculty. Pinn Scholars are selected on the basis of their scientific expertise and contributions to the School of Medicine and to the greater research community. Pinn Scholars are expected to develop a new project or direction in their research and share their results at the annual symposium.

I am excited to share with you the 2018 class of Pinn Scholars. They are:

  • Alison K. Criss, PhD
    Microbiology, Immunology, and Cancer Biology
    Neutrophilic inflammation due to Neisseria gonorrhoea infection
  • Scott K. Heysell, MD, MPH
    Medicine/Infectious Diseases and International Health
    Novel, integrated approaches to improve outcomes of tuberculosis therapy
  • Benjamin W. Purow, MD
    A staged, multi-modality approach with focused ultrasound to maximize its immunotherapeutic potential for glioblastoma
  • Jeffrey J. Saucerman, PhD
    Biomedical Engineering
    Systems biology of cardiac regeneration

The inaugural Pinn Scholars — Drs. Isakson, Laurie, Peirce-Cottler, and Zimmer — recently presented updates from their research at the School of Medicine Symposium on Research Excellence. I look forward to next year’s symposium and in hearing about the results from the newest batch of Pinn Scholars’ work.

The Scholars program is named in honor of Dr. Vivian Pinn who was a graduate of the UVA School of Medicine Class of 1967. She is a member of the National Academies of Science, a fellow in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and past president of the National Medical Association.

Please join me in congratulating the incoming class of Pinn Scholars.

Margaret A. Shupnik, PhD
Gerald D. Aurbach Professor of Endocrinology
Professor of Medicine
Senior Associate Dean for Research

By Brian Murphy– Originally published on Dean’s Office Blog

Filed Under: Media Highlights



Leave a Reply