Endocrinology and Metabolism Fellow Profile – Jeanette Owusu

Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I was born and raised in Washington, DC, and completed my undergraduate and medical school training at Howard University in DC. After being in DC for my entire life, I decided it was time for a change and moved to New York to complete my internal medicine residency at NYU Winthrop Hospital in Long Island. After residency, I stayed in New York to complete a year of clinical research at the Bone Mineral Research Center at NYU Winthrop Hospital. After my clinical research year, I was fortunate enough to match at UVA where I am currently completing my Endocrinology fellowship. I currently live in Charlottesville, but most weekends I travel to my hometown in DC to visit family.

Why medicine? Why endocrinology?
I have always had an interest in pursuing medicine ever since I was a child. I became interested in endocrinology during my residency as I worked closely with the Endocrine department. I enjoyed the cases I encountered during my endocrine rotation and found the field to be interesting and dynamic. Endocrine is an intellectually stimulating and challenging field and I am happy to take part in it.

What brought you to Charlottesville?
The wonderful UVA Division of Endocrinology and Metabolism fellowship program.

What excites you about your work?
Learning about the new advances in different treatments for many endocrinopathies. It is also very rewarding and humbling to have the opportunity to help others improve their quality of life.

Proudest/greatest achievement outside the professional realm?
Being an only child and living at home for most of my life, including undergrad and medical school, I would have to say my proudest achievement was to become more independent and live away from home for the first time for residency in one of the busiest places in the country, New York.

Next life?
Since I pretend to be one currently, in my next life I would probably be a food critic.

What are you usually doing in your spare time?
I am usually visiting family in DC or friends in NY. When I am in Charlottesville, I love to hang out with my co-fellows and try new restaurants and cuisines. I also love watching new shows and recently finished the first season of The Mandalorian.

Favorite vacation/activity spot?
Jamaica. It has beautiful beaches and it is always fun to visit family when I am there.

Most admired person, and why?
My parents. My parents are immigrants and my mother is from Jamaica and my father is from Ghana. They are both hard-working, determined, patient, loving, and humble individuals. They are great role models.

Best advice anyone ever gave you?
“Stay patient and trust the journey.”

What about you would surprise us?
I have played the violin since I was 4 years old and was a part of the DC Youth Orchestra.

Filed Under: Fellow Profiles, Profiles

Tags: , , , , ,