Notable Achievements

Academy of Distinguished Educators Named

Congratulations to the incoming members of The Academy of Distinguished Educators! Jeanetta Frye, MD; Gregory Hong, MD, PhD; Victor Soukouis, MD; and Karen Warburton, MD. Their induction will take place at the ADE’s annual spring reception in May 2019 at Veritas Vineyard.

The ADE was founded by the Dean of the School of Medicine in 2003 to provide an organizational structure that would recognize, reward, promote, and further develop excellence in medical education within the School of Medicine. The members of the Academy have worked over the years to develop criteria for future membership, to investigate a peer evaluation program, and to fund excellent educational research projects. The School of Medicine charge to the Academy is to recognize and reward outstanding teachers; to work to make excellence in teaching a domain of academic advancement; and to develop effective faculty educators across the academic medical center.

To learn more about The Academy of Distinguished Educators, visit their website.

2018 School of Medicine Faculty Awardees

The University of Virginia School of Medicine Faculty Awards recognize faculty who excel in teaching, which many include, but are not limited to, accomplishments in research, being outstanding as a classroom instructor, research mentor, small group discussion leader, student advisor, curriculum innovator, course director, student advocate, and/or director of student research.

Congratulations to Dr. Ryan Gentzler as he received an award from the DOM for Excellence in Clinical Care.

Congratulations to Dr. Craig Portell as he received an award from the DOM for Excellence in Research.

Congratulations to Dr. Richard Hall as he received an award from the DOM for Excellence in Teaching.

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching – Amita Sudhir, MD, Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine

Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research and Team Science –

Senior Faculty Award – Peter I. Lobo, MD, Professor of Medicine

Junior Faculty Award – James A. Platts-Mills, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine

Dean’s Award for Clinical Excellence – Elizabeth M. Gaughan, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine

Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award – Molly A. Hughes, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Medicine

Filed Under: Notable Achievements, Top News