Sarah Creef Baugher

Sarah Creef Baugher Endocrinology/Rheumatology

Sarah Creef Baugher

Sarah Creef Baugher is the Division Administrator for Endocrinology and Rheumatology.  Sarah graduated in 1999 from George Mason University. Before coming to DOM this year, she worked in the Cancer Center, the Department of Pediatrics, and the SOM Office of Grants & Contracts. Sarah lives in Waynesboro with her husband,  Jon, and two dogs, Daisy and the Dude.  Sarah and Jon do not have children, but love spending time with their nieces, nephews, and goddaughter.

Why Healthcare?

I am a curious person.  Since I was young, I’ve always wanted to know how or why.  I like science and medicine.  I worked in a lab at George Mason University, but I quickly realized, for me, people are better company than mice!  Administration turned out to be a good fit.  I enjoy facilitating research and patient care.

Healthy competition begins at home

Healthy competition begins at home

What brought you to Charlottesville?

I was raised in Waynesboro, Virginia.  I moved to Northern Virginia for my undergrad education and lived there for a few years after I graduated.  I came back to the valley for love and family.  I’m so lucky to have all of my family close and in such a beautiful place. 

What excites you about your work?

I love problem solving and I really like the people at UVA.

Proudest/greatest achievement outside the professional realm?

My marriage and my home.  We recently bought a restored Victorian home built in 1906 and we love it.  I like to cook and I feel proud when my dining room table is surrounded with loved ones.  We fill our home with family and friends as often as possible.   We also plant a large garden every year that we use to make our signature hot sauces.  I also love the feeling I get when I complete a race – the finish line of my first 5K is something I’ll always remember.

The Dude (dog)

The Dude

Next life?

In my next life, I’ll come back as a drifter.  I will travel and learn.  I want to know what it’s like to not be practical.

What are you usually doing on the weekend?

Going to see live music, hiking, camping, cooking, gardening, rafting, kayaking, or traveling.  Going to my nephew’s baseball games.  If it’s nice outside, I’m doing something outdoors.  During the winter, I pick up hobbies.

How did you meet your partner?

I met Jon in high school.  I moved back to the area in 2001 to reconnect with him and we were married at the UVA chapel on September 18, 2004.

Favorite vacation/activity spot?

Santorini, Greece.  Specifically, a village called Imerovigli.  We visited in 2009 and we can’t wait to go back.

Hiking from Fira to Oia, Santorini, Greece

Hiking from Fira to Oia in Santorini, Greece

Most admired person, and why?

My grandfather, Arvin Brant Creef.  He served in the army during WWII.  He and my grandmother, Mildred, met and fell in love by writing letters to each other during the war.  He was a hardworking, humble, and generous man.  I’ve never met anyone else with such integrity.

Best advice anyone ever gave you?

The world will keep spinning long after you’re gone.

What about you would surprise us?

I’m related to Jesse James.  And, I don’t always wear heels.


Filed Under: Staff Profiles

Tags: ,