Anneke Schroen, First Director of Faculty Awards & Recognition

March 31, 2022 by School of Medicine Webmaster

Anneke Schroen, MD, MPH

Anneke Schroen, MD, MPH

Anneke Schroen, MD, MPH, has been appointed the inaugural Director of Faculty Awards and Recognition in the School of Medicine. This newly created position supports the nomination of School of Medicine faculty members for prestigious national awards and society memberships.

Dr. Schroen will work collaboratively with the dean and senior associate deans to provide our faculty greater visibility nationally by assuring nominations to the most prestigious national awards and societies.  She will also work with department chairs, center directors, division leaders, and mission area leaders to identify and pursue prospective awards and membership nominations that come from specialty societies and national organizations. Since this is a new position, Dr. Schroen will develop strategies for identifying nominees and targeted awards as well as strategies for executing nomination processes.

Dr. Schroen is Professor and Vice Chair for Faculty Development in the Department of Surgery. Since 2016, Dr. Schroen has led her department’s efforts in faculty development. She has fostered greater transparency in and commitment to sponsoring faculty for professional development opportunities, awards, and honorary society memberships for her department.  In that role, she has directed more than 50 award and society nominations. Dr. Schroen will extend these efforts to the School of Medicine and other departments in her new role as Director of Faculty Awards and Recognition.   Dr. Schroen received her medical degree from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, then completed residency in general surgery and a fellowship in breast surgery at UTSW. She also completed a research fellowship in health services research at UNC prior to joining our faculty in 2002. Dr. Schroen specializes in breast surgery. Her research ranges from health services research in oncology to surgeon workforce issues and unconscious bias in our workplace. She has held several education roles including associate surgery clerkship director and co-director of the Surgery Internship Readiness course since its inception. Dr. Schroen received the Dean’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, Jefferson Scholars Foundation Award for Excellence in Teaching, and the Sharon L. Hostler Women in Medicine Leadership Award.  Join us in welcoming Dr. Schroen to this inaugural role in the School of Medicine.

Filed Under: Faculty