35th Pediatrics Annual Research Symposium Features Keynote Address by Louis J. Muglia, MD, PhD

June 1, 2023 by

Louis Muglia, MD, PhD

On May 25, 2023, the Child Health Research Center, Department of Pediatrics, held its 35th Annual Research Symposium. The distinguished event commenced with an exciting keynote lecture by Louis J. Muglia, MD, PhD titled “Preventing Prematurity: New Insights from Genomics.” Dr. Muglia, president & CEO of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, is a consummate authority on medical research and engagement in the healthcare ecosystem. Melina R. Kibbe, MD, FACS, FAHA, Dean, UVA School of Medicine, James Carroll Flippin Professor of Medical Science & Chief Health Affairs Officer, UVA Health gave the welcoming remarks and the formal introduction of the speaker. Dr. Muglia’s captivating presentation delved into the latest findings on preventing preterm birth, opening a new world of possibilities with genomics research.

Following the seminar, attendees moved to the UVA Battle Building, for an on-site poster presentations and competition, showcasing the cutting-edge research from pediatric faculty and trainees. The scholars recognized for placing top three in the poster competition were Phillip Mollica (1st place), Lucas Ferreira de Almeida (2nd place) and Julia Session (3rd place).

James Nataro and Ariel Gomez

James P. Nataro, MD, PhD, MBA (left) was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award in Pediatric Science by R. Ariel Gomez, MD

The Awards Ceremony brought together a room full of faculty members, mentees, and friends who gathered to celebrate the achievements of outstanding individuals in the pediatric research community. James P. Nataro, MD, PhD, MBA, the Benjamin Armistead Shepherd Professor  and chair of Pediatrics received the Lifetime Achievement Award in Pediatric Science recognizing his unparalleled contributions to the field. The award was presented by R. Ariel Gomez MD, the Harrison Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics and Director of the Child Health Research Center. Dr. Nataro received a standing ovation from the capacity-filled room.

Additionally, remarkable trainees recognized during the award ceremony gave short presentations, including Angelina June, Kendig Award winner and Aleksandra Cwiek the Hiroko Nishimura Award winner. Furthermore, Jesus Neyra, Jason P. Smith, and Cherise Brackett, the winners of the Trainee Competition held on May 12, presented their work. The participants also had the opportunity to engage in a career development session with Dr. Muglia and discuss their future plans and aspirations.

The 35th Annual Research Symposium was covered widely by local media. Watch the highlights on NBC29 and CBS19news.


Filed Under: Research