SOM Clinical and Basic Science Faculty Nominations

July 20, 2015 by School of Medicine Webmaster

From Dean Canterbury:

I invite you to nominate School of Medicine clinical and basic science faculty to fill 9 at-large membership slots on the Curriculum Committee.  Nominees should have a record of sustained interest and active participation in undergraduate medical education (UME) and should not hold a current SOM administrative position.  Faculty can self-nominate.

The Curriculum Committee has the authority to set educational objectives, establish educational requirements, establish and approve content, ensure content integration, coordination and coherence, allocate curriculum time, specify teaching methods, select and oversee course and clerkship directors, and evaluate educational outcomes.

Responsibilities:  All committee members are expected to contribute to the committee’s activities and attend at least two-thirds (2/3) of regular meetings during an academic year.  The chair shall review attendance annually to determine whether an individual’s responsibilities have been met.  Failure to participate as required will jeopardize committee membership.

Terms:  The term for at-large faculty is three years, with the potential for one consecutive renewal at the discretion of the Chair.  Anyone desiring to continue service to the committee beyond two terms must wait a period of two years before reapplying.

Compensation:  At-large members will be compensated for this important responsibility.  Nominees should discuss their potential membership with their chairs.

Meetings:  The committee meets the first, second, and third Mondays of the month, August through June, 4-5 p.m., in 4029 McKim Hall. If a national holiday falls on one of these days, the fourth Monday of the month may be used as a makeup meeting.

Nomination process:  Interested faculty may send the committee chair, Dr. Megan Bray, a CV and one-page letter of intent outlining their:  desire to participate; unique qualifications; prior teaching experiences; and vision for the future of UVa’s UME program.  The School of Medicine’s elected Faculty Senate representatives (22 members) will elect at-large members from the slate provided by the chair to ensure a broad faculty perspective in the committee’s decision-making.

Deadline:  CVs and letters of intent should be submitted to Committee Chair, Dr. Megan Bray, Associate Dean for Curriculum, at (with a copy to Elizabeth Graham at by 5 PM, Monday, July 13, as a single pdf.

Filed Under: What's New