Brodie Resident Clinician Award

April 20, 2015 by School of Medicine Webmaster

From Natalie Mechak, Residency Program Coordinator:

We are requesting nominations from the Department of Pediatrics faculty, fellows, residents, nursing, and supporting clinical staff for the 2015 Anne L. Brodie Resident Clinician Award. Please forward your 3rd year resident nomination (list below) for the award and a brief statement about why you are nominating the resident to Natalie Mechak ( by Friday, April 24.

UVA Departments of Medicine (Division of General Medicine, Geriatrics & Palliative Care), Family Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Pediatrics (Division of General Pediatrics)

The purpose of the Anne L. Brodie Resident Clinician Award is to recognize resident physicians who demonstrate clinical excellence in primary care at the University of Virginia.  These residents serve as models for peers and medical students for their artful, compassionate, patient centered care and their willingness to take primary responsibility for the care of the whole person.

Number of awards: One per year in each of the four primary care departments/divisions.

Value: Recognition Plaque & $750.00 award (awardee responsible for tax and fringe)

Method of selection: Nominations and final selections will be made in each department according to their own method. It is suggested that nominations be made by any staff member, peer or faculty physician who is familiar with the resident physician’s practice. Each department is requested to provide to the Brodie Medical Education Fund Committee a brief written protocol that describes their nomination and selection method.

Criteria for selection:

The recipient of the award:

  1. Is called to artful, compassionate, patient centered care.
  2. Takes personal and primary responsibility for the whole patient / person.
  3. Demonstrates excellence in clinical knowledge, skill and judgment.
  4. Demonstrates a commitment to personal professional development.
  5. Strives to improve on each individual patient encounter, and also on systems of practice.
  6. A role model to clinician peers and students.

Brodie Medical Education Fund Committee: Elizabeth B. Bradley PhD, Evan B Heald MD (Director), Karen L Maughan MD, Nancy McDaniel MD, Nancy Payne-Rapp MD, Eugene C. Corbett, Jr., MD (chair emeritus)

PGY3 List of Residents for Nomination for the 2015 Brodie Resident Clinician Award for Excellence in Pediatrics: Angie Aldayuz, Ashley Eason, Alexander Janovski, John Kelly, Brock Libby, Matthew McGraw, Adam Morrison, Ufuoma Onyemachi, Christina Ortiz, Rhodes Proctor, Caleb Springsteen.

Filed Under: What's New