Michael R. Nelson, MD, and Nora Kern, MD, Honored by UVA Medical Alumni Association

September 19, 2023 by jta6n@virginia.edu

Michael Nelson and Nora Kern

Michael Nelson, MD, (left) and Nora Kern, MD are current School of Medicine faculty who were honored.

The UVA Medical Alumni Association announced the 2023 recipients of six awards. This year’s awards and recipients include:

  • Walter Reed Distinguished Achievement Award: Michael R. Nelson, MD ’89, PhD ’93, UVA Professor of Medicine, Division of Allergy and Immunology
  • Distinguished Achievement Award in Biomedical Sciences: Catherine A. Christian-Hinman, PhD ’08
  • MD Early Achievement Award: Kristen Leeman, MD ’06
  • Early Achievement Award in Biomedical Sciences: Kristian Hargadon, PhD ’07
  • Humanitarian Award: Joseph F. Smiddy, MD ’67
  • Outstanding Medical Alumnus Award: Nora Kern, MD ’08, UVA Associate Professor of Urology, Division of Pediatric Urology

Read more about all the recipients on the UVA Medical Alumni Association website.

Filed Under: Faculty, Honors & Awards