Mary Faith Marshall, PhD, Awarded the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities 2023 Distinguished Service Award

September 5, 2023 by

Mary Faith Marshall PhD

Mary Faith Marshall, PhD

Mary Faith Marshall, PhD, the Emily Davie and Joseph S. Kornfeld Professor of Biomedical Ethics, director of the School of Medicine’s Center for Health Humanities and Ethics, and professor of nursing in the School of Nursing, received the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities (ASBH) 2023 Distinguished Service Award. The award recognizes a current or longstanding member of ASBH who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in advancing the goals of the Society.

Professor Marshall served as ASBH’s second president from 1998-1999. She has served on the ASBH Health Care Ethics Certification Task Force and currently serves on the Task Force to Advance Certification. She was a member of the inaugural class of Health Care Ethics Consultants certified by the ASBH in 2019 and currently serves as member of the American Journal of Bioethics editorial board. Additionally, Professor Marshall is a fellow of the American College of Critical Care Medicine where she is the immediate past chair of the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) Ethics committee and currently co-chairs a SCCM panel that is writing new end-of-life guidelines. Professor Marshall chaired the National Human Research Protections Advisory Committee and served as a member of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Committee on Ethics for eleven years. For her work in policy approaches to perinatal substance use disorder, Dr. Marshall received the Trailblazer Award from the Charleston Chapter of the NAACP.


Filed Under: Honors & Awards