Three School of Medicine Faculty Named 2024 Pinn Scholars

July 9, 2024 by

(From left) Jennifer Payne, MD, Jie Sun, PhD, Chongzhi Zang, PhD.

(From left) Jennifer Payne, MD, Jie Sun, PhD, Chongzhi Zang, PhD.

Please join the School of Medicine in congratulating the following 2024 Class of Pinn Scholars, selected for a three-year term effective July 1, 2024.

  • Jennifer Payne, MD, Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Neurobehavioral Sciences
  • Jie Sun, PhD, Professor, Department of Medicine
  • Chongzhi Zang, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Public Health Sciences

The Pinn Scholars program is named in honor of the extraordinary career of Dr. Vivian Pinn, one of the first African American graduates of the UVA School of Medicine. Pinn Scholars are mid-career faculty chosen for their scientific expertise and research productivity, and contributions to the School of Medicine and to the greater research community, including mentoring and service. This prestigious award provides $120,000 for each scholar’s research program at the beginning of the three-year term. They are expected to develop a new project or direction in their research and share their results at an annual symposium.

Congratulations to all the recipients of this esteemed honor!

Filed Under: Featured, Honors & Awards