Three School of Medicine Faculty Named 2023 Pinn Scholars

June 6, 2023 by

Huiwang Ai, Hao Jiang, Xiaowei Lu

(left to right) Huiwang Ai, PhD; Hao Jiang, PhD; Xiaowei Lu, PhD

Please join the School of Medicine in congratulating the following 2023 Class of Pinn Scholars, selected for a three-year term effective June 1, 2023.

  • Huiwang Ai, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Molecular Physiology and Biological Physics
  • Hao Jiang, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
  • Xiaowei Lu, PhD, Professor, Department of Cell Biology

The Pinn Scholars program is named in honor of the extraordinary career of Dr. Vivian Pinn, one of the first African American graduates of the UVA School of Medicine. Pinn Scholars are mid-career faculty chosen for their scientific expertise and research productivity, and contributions to the School of Medicine and to the greater research community, including mentoring and service. This prestigious award provides $120,000 for each scholar’s research program at the beginning of the three-year term. They are expected to develop a new project or direction in their research and share their results at an annual symposium.

Congratulations to all the recipients of this esteemed honor!

Filed Under: Faculty, Featured, Honors & Awards