School of Medicine Celebrates 2022 Faculty Awards and Endowed Professorships

March 8, 2023 by

Dean's Awards 2022 Group shot

2022 Dean’s Office Faculty Awards Ceremony. Photo by Tom Daly.

Dean Kibbe giving opening remarks

Dean Melina R. Kibbe, MD

The School of Medicine Dean’s Office held its faculty awards ceremony on February 28, 2023 in the Claude Moore Education Building. This annual event recognizes faculty for their lasting impact on the success of our students and trainees, patients, colleagues, and the advancement of science and medicine. Dean Kibbe says, “I am proud of our faculty and their incredible contributions to continued excellence in teaching, research, scholarship, and clinical programs.”

The ceremony also honors endowed professorship electees. Endowed professorships are made possible by generous gifts from donors, which allows the School of Medicine to recruit and retain some of the best and brightest physicians and scientists in the world. “The School of Medicine endowments are vital to our community and our mission and they strengthen everything we do,” states Kibbe.

The awards ceremony was attended by about 60 awardees and their families, department chairs, nominators, and committee members. Dean Melina Kibbe, MD provided a welcome and opening remarks. Awards were presented by Sue Pollart, MD, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development; Kate McManus, MD; Timothy Bender, PhD; Posy Marzani, MD; Megan Bray, MD; Megan Tracci, MD; Linda Duska, MD, MPH; and Susan Kirk, MD.

Recipients were thrilled and deeply honored to be acknowledged for their dedication and commitment to teaching, education and mentorship, clinical excellence, research excellence, and leadership. Read how a few honorees described the experience:

Research Team Science 2022 Drs. Hauck, Kellams, and Moon

(l-r) Ann Kellams, MD; Rachel Moon, MD; Susan Pollart, MD; and Fern Hauck, MD. Photo by Tom Daly.

“We are very excited to have been recognized for our research by Dean Kibbe and the School of Medicine and extend our deep appreciation. It is less common for the type of work that we do—and we do enjoy working together as a team—to receive this kind of validation, although the impact of our research on infants and families is great and translates into many saved lives. It is a true honor to be awarded alongside our esteemed colleagues, whom we very much admire.” Fern Hauck, MD, Professor of Family Medicine, Ann Kellams, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, and Rachel Moon, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research, Team Science.

“I am very honored to receive this award (the Sharon Hostler Women in Medicine Leadership award), especially in light of the amazing and accomplished women who have received this award previously and have been role models for me and many others. This recognition is particularly meaningful to me because it recognizes advocating for women’s issues, which ultimately benefit everyone.” Barbara Mann, PhD, Associate Professor of Medicine, Sharon L. Hostler Women in Medicine Leadership Award

“It is truly an honor to receive this award, especially when considering the caliber of physicians here at UVA, where I started as a medical student.  To be nominated by my department and chairman perhaps is the most humbling, because they are intimately aware of how much we all put into taking care of patients.  In my opinion, clinical care is the foundation for all the missions at UVA, which makes it all the more special.” M. Truitt Cooper, MD, Associate Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Dean’s Award for Clinical Excellence

“I am honored and humbled by this award and deeply appreciate the recognition by my colleagues and peers who have always supported, inspired and motivated me to constantly improve and work to achieve the very best patient care possible.” –Michael Ragosta, MD, Professor of Medicine, University of Virginia School of Medicine Master Clinician Award

View the full list of 2022 School of Medicine faculty award recipients and endowed professorships on the Faculty Affairs & Development website.

Planning is already underway for next year’s awards. The Office of Faculty Affairs and Development will send a Call for Nominations to the School of Medicine in the spring, with nominations packets due June 26, 2023. Learn more about the criteria and nomination process for each award.

Photos by Tom Daly.

Filed Under: Featured, Honors & Awards