Leadership in Academic Matters Fall 2022 Program Begins with 34th Faculty Cohort

September 15, 2022 by

LAM Fall 2022 cohort

Leadership in Academic Matters Fall 2022

On Monday, September 12 the Leadership in Academic Matters (LAM) fall program began with its thirty-fourth faculty cohort. LAM was created in the School of Medicine Office of Faculty Development in 2004, before being offered to faculty University-wide through the Office of the Provost, beginning in 2009. Running twice per year with half of the cohort comprised of SOM faculty, Leadership in Academic Matters (LAM) is a faculty development opportunity focused on supporting, inspiring, and rewarding those who, in these myriad roles, have demonstrated leadership characteristics and future potential. LAM provides participants with concrete resources and access to expertise and experiential learning opportunities focused on a variety of topics including managing change, building and managing teams, difficult conversations, developing successful networks, and finding life balance in a dynamic and growing career. Weekly half-day sessions are conducted over the course of several months, facilitated by leading experts in academic leadership.

This semester’s participants from the School of Medicine include:

  • Brittany Behar, MD, Assistant Professor of Plastic Surgery
  • Ian Duensing, MD, Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Noelle Dwyer, PhD, Associate Professor of Cell Biology
  • Paola Gehrig, MD, Professor and Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Susan Gray, MD, Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Interim Division Chief of General Pediatrics
  • Hui Li, PhD, Professor of Pathology
  • Emily McGowan, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics
  • Wendy Novicoff, PhD, Professor of Public Health Sciences
  • Kevin Pelphrey, PhD, Harrison-Wood Jefferson Scholars Foundation Professor of Neurology
  • Lale Kostakoglu Shields, MD, MPH, Professor of Radiology and Medical Imaging and Chief of Molecular Nuclear Medicine
  • Swapnil Sonkusare, PhD, Associate Professor of Molecular Physiology & Biological Physics and Director of Graduate Studies in Physiology
  • Ryan Smith, MD, Associate Professor of Urology, Residency Program Director, Medical Student Clerkship Director, and Co-Director Andrology Fellowship
  • Allan Tsung, MD, S. Hurt Watts Professor and Chair of Surgery

If you are a School of Medicine faculty member who is interested in participating in LAM, please discuss your interest with your department chair and send a note to Ashley Ayers to express your interest.


Filed Under: Faculty