Faculty Invited to Join the MD Curriculum Committee

June 29, 2022 by

SOM Office of Curriculum seeks clinical and research faculty to join the Curriculum Committee to fill two at-large Charlottesville campus membership slots. Faculty may self-nominate for these positions. Nominees should have a record of sustained interest and active participation in undergraduate medical education (UME) and should not hold a current SOM administrative position.

Curriculum Committee (2 positions) The Curriculum Committee, chaired by Dr. Megan Bray, Associate Dean for Curriculum, has the authority to set educational objectives, establish educational requirements, establish and approve content, ensure content integration, coordination and coherence, allocate curriculum time, specify teaching methods, select and oversee course and clerkship directors, and evaluate educational outcomes. We strive for diversity and balance among disciplines. See for additional information.

Current Charlottesville At-Large Elected Voting Members and Departments

  • Amy E. Doran, MD – Gastroenterology
  • Lauren K. Dunn, MD – Anesthesia
  • Kristen C. Heinan, MD – Neurology
  • Paul R. Kunk, MD – Internal Medicine, Hem/Onc
  • Alexander S. Lawson, MD – Internal Medicine
  • Ryan P. Smith, MD, Vice Chair – Urology
  • Nicholas R. Teman, MD – Surgery
  • Christopher D. Thom – Emergency Medicine

Responsibilities Committee members are expected to contribute to the Committee’s activities and attend at least two-thirds (2/3) of regular meetings during an academic year. The Chair will review attendance annually to determine if an individual’s responsibilities have been met. Failure to participate as required will jeopardize Committee membership.

Term Initial appointments are for 3 years and faculty are eligible for one 3-year renewal at the discretion of the Chair. After 6 consecutive years of service, faculty must wait 2 years before reapplying to serve again on the Curriculum Committee.

Compensation The SOM provides financial support for this position to cover 5% of salary and fringe benefits, up to the NIH cap. Financial support is delivered directly to departments and nominees should discuss their potential membership with their Department Chairs.

Meetings The Committee meets the first, second, and third Mondays of the month, August through June, 4-5 p.m. (location varies and we are currently using Zoom). If a national holiday falls on one of these days, the fourth Monday of the month may be used as a makeup meeting.

Nomination Process Interested faculty should submit nomination materials as a single PDF no later than July 10, 2022 to Dr. Megan Bray ( and Jolene Kidd ( PDF must include: (1) nominee’s one-page letter of interest outlining desire to participate, unique qualifications, prior teaching experiences, and vision for the future of UVA’s UME Program; (2) letter of support from nominee’s Department Chair; (3) nominee’s current CV. To ensure a broad faculty perspective in the Committee’s decision-making, at-large Committee members are elected by the School of Medicine’s Faculty Senate representatives (nomination materials are reviewed by the Chair prior to being sent forward to the Faculty Senate).

Thank you for considering this opportunity to serve the SOM and our students.

Questions? Contact Dr. Megan Bray (, Chair of the Curriculum Committee and Associate Dean for Curriculum

Original Source

Filed Under: Education