Graduate Biosciences Society Spring Symposium Showcases Student Research

April 16, 2024 by

Graduate Biosciences Society Symposium 2024.

The Annual Graduate Biosciences Society (GBS) Symposium was held on Thursday, April 11, in McKim Hall. The day was filled with terrific presentations from the Outstanding Student awardees from the eight Biomedical Sciences (BIMS) PhD programs and our BIMS-affiliated Biomedical Engineering Program. Symposium attendees enjoyed a fantastic talk by the student-invited keynote speaker, Mary “Nora” Disis, MD, an expert in breast and ovarian cancer immunology and translational research at University of Washington School of Medicine. The afternoon culminated with the traditional awards ceremony where the GBS Leadership and Peach and Hungerford award recipients were announced. The closing reception was accompanied by a lively poster session where nearly 50 students presented their work. It was a truly wonderful day!

Thanks to all of the members of the GBS who contributed to organizing the symposium, spearheaded by BIMS students Ariana Sabzevari, Luke Vass and Sydney Labuzan. Congratulations to the recipients of all of the awards and recognitions.

Outstanding Student Awardees
  • Biochemistry & Molecular Genetics: Tommy Scott (mentor: Michael Guertin)
  • Biomedical Engineering: Julie Leonard-Duke (mentor: Shayn Peirce-Cottler
  • Biophysics: Zachery Stephens (mentor: Jochen Zimmer)
  • Cell Biology: Ryan Mulligan (mentor: Bettina Winckler)
  • MCBD/Experimental Pathology: Karolina Dziewulska-Cronk (mentor: James Zimring)
  • Microbiology: Sara Dochnal (mentor: Anna Cliffe)
  • Neuroscience: Andrea Merchak (mentor: Alban Gaultier)
  • Pharmacology: Clint Upchurch (mentor: Norbert Leitinger)
  • Physiology: Melissa Luse (mentor: Brant Isakson
GBS Leadership Awardee
  • Kendra Liu
Jill E. Hungerford Prize in Biomedical Sciences
  • Ryan Mulligan
 Michael J. Peach Outstanding Graduate Student Award
  • Sara Dochnal
Poster Awards
  • 1st place: Josh Samuels
  • 2nd place (tie): Swarup Mishra, Harish Narasimhan and Avery Sukienik

Photos by Tom Daly.


Filed Under: Education