Class of 2025 Medical Students Receive Accolades at Future Physicians for Change Annual Conference

June 11, 2024 by

AMSA Policy Pulse meeting.On May 31, student teams nationwide presented health policy solutions to a panel of experts and judges at the American Medical Student Association’s (AMSA) first policy proposal competition, “Policy Pulse: Health Innovation Challenge,” during the 2024 Future Physicians for Change annual conference in Washington, D.C.

Under the mentorship of Inova Campus faculty members Krupal Shah, MD, and Arshia Qaadir, MD, two UVA School of Medicine student teams from the Class of 2025 were selected as finalists. In a show of strength, both teams were placed in the top three, receiving honorable mention and winning first place with a grand prize of $1000.

The students winning first place for their presentation titled “Fentanyl Use in Rural Adolescents: A School-Centered Approach within a Community-Based Plan” include Elyud Argaw, Amber Bowman, Rachael Cal, Nina Gu, Isabella Martin, and Davis Tran.

Policy Pulse: Health Innovation Challenge.The group receiving honorable mention for their presentation titled “Cessation of Medicaid Expansion in States Where the Federal Medical Assistance Percentage Match Increase is Set to Expire- State Funding Through Increasing Excise Taxes” include Jasmina Abdalla, Michael Gonçalves, Mary Kathryn Howard, Havens Howell, and Thi Nguyen.

Congratulations to our students and faculty for this outstanding accomplishment!

Filed Under: Education, Honors & Awards