Category: Faculty

Multidisciplinary Team Receives $5M from NIH to Study Chronic Pain


A team of researchers, including Neurosurgery Professor Jeff Elias, MD, Neurology Professor Mark Quigg, MD, Anesthesiology's Patrick Finan, PhD, and Neurosurgery Assistant Professor Chang-Chia “Jeff” Liu, PhD, are pioneering a new…

Neonatology Research Team Receives NIH Funding for Sepsis Predictive Analytics


Pediatrics Professor Karen Fairchild and Cardiology Professor Randall Moorman are co-PIs on a recently re-funded R01 collaboration with 3 other large academic NICUs to develop vital sign analytics as early…

Jie Sun, PhD, Studies Nasal Sprays to Thwart COVID Variants


Current COVID-19 mRNA vaccinated people still experience breakthrough infections, and it is unclear why so many breakthrough infections occur. Infectious Diseases Professor Jie Sun and colleagues studied, for the first…

Anja Katrin Bielinsky, PhD, Appointed Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics


Anja Katrin Bielinsky, PhD, has been appointed as the new chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics effective November 15, 2022. Professor Bielinsky’s work in the field of…

49th Annual Edward W. Hook, Jr. MD Recent Advances in Clinical Medicine Conference


Registration is open for the 49th Edward W. Hook, Jr., MD Recent Advances in Clinical Medicine (RACM) conference scheduled for October 26-28, 2022 at the Omni Hotel, Charlottesville, VA and…

Date: Oct 26, 2022 - Oct 28, 2022

Start Time: 8:00 am

National Coverage for Meaghan Stumpf, MD, and Her Team About the Effectiveness of Glucose Monitors for Dialysis Patients


Assistant Professor Meaghan Stumpf, MD, and her research team received national media coverage in connection with a study published in Diabetes Care which found that off-the-shelf blood sugar monitors prove…

Vishal Madaan, MD, Recognized as Outstanding Academician


Associate Professor Vishal Madaan, MD, was awarded the 2022 Outstanding Academician Award by the Indo-American Psychiatric Association. The IAPA is the largest minority organization of the American Psychiatric Association. Dr.…

Anne Kenworthy, PhD, Receives Biological Chemistry Award


Professor Anne Kenworthy, PhD, will receive the 2023 Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry, from the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. According to ASBMB “the award recognizes and honors…