Message from Dr Christopher Kramer – Division Chief, Cardiovascular Medicine, December 2020

Christopher Kramer UVA

Christopher M. Kramer, MD

University of Virginia’s Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, led by Christopher M. Kramer, MD, is nationally recognized for excellence in clinical care, research, and teaching. Faculty members provide expert, comprehensive care for all forms of cardiovascular disease through UVA Heart and Vascular Center, which serves more than 4,000 patients at University Hospital and an additional 50,000 in outpatient clinics each year. The division’s clinical practice covers a wide range of disciplines, including general cardiovascular disease and prevention, cardiac imaging, diagnostic, and interventional electrophysiology, and cardiac catheterization, valvular heart disease, peripheral vascular disease, basic and advanced heart failure, mechanical support, congenital heart disease, sports cardiology, and vascular diseases.

The collaborative approach the division takes to patient care brings together specialists from cardiovascular medicine, pediatric cardiology, and cardiac surgery, adult cardiac and vascular surgery, and interventional radiology to optimize treatment for each individual patient.

Its faculty and professional research staff excel in the research arena, with over 100 grants and total annual grant funding of approximately $8 million (directs). The division’s research activities range from basic biomedical research to physiologic and device-related clinical studies to large international clinical registries.

Christopher Kramer, MD

Cardiovascular Medicine Awards 2020

Deans Awards

Clinical Excellence – Jim Bergin MD
Research Excellence – Coleen McNamara MD

Department of Medicine Awards

Clinical Excellence – Pam Mason MD and Max Luna MD
Mentoring – Michael Salerno MD, PhD
Teaching – Mohamed Morsy MD
Staff – Anne Shipe, Amanda Scott

Cardiovascular Medicine Achievements in 2020

New NIH R01’s to Ken Walsh, PhD, Coleen McNamara MD, Zhen Yan PhD, Soichi Sano MD, PhD

Coleen McNamara MD – named Director of the Bierne C. Carter Center of Immunology (CIC)
Also, received a LeDucq Foundation Translational Network of Excellence Award on “B Cells in CV Disease”

Max Luna MD – named Vice Chair of the Dept. of Medicine for Diversity and Inclusion

Michael Salerno MD, PhD was named a UVA Vivien Pinn Scholar with 3 years of project support

Matt Wolf MD, PhD – named the Paul Dudley White International Scholar for the highest-rated U.S. abstract at the 2020 AHA BCS Annual Scientific Session

Ken Walsh PhD – garnered a NASA grant on ($1.8 million) on “Space radiation exposure and risk mediated by clonal hematopoiesis”

Todd Villines MD was named to the Julian Beckwith Chair and was named Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Cardiovascular Computed Tomography

The Division won 2 National awards for Quality Heart Attack Care

Heart Failure team – named Gold Plus by AHA Get With the Guidelines

The Cardiac Catheterization laboratory won the highest rating on the ACC Cardiosmart rating scale

The Structural Team performed the 1st Transcatheter Tricuspid Valve Replacement at UVA in July, which was the 25th in the U.S. and 52nd in the world

The Structural Team performed 2 Live Cases for the TCT meeting in October

Welcome New Faculty

Michael Ayers MD – Residency and CV Fellowship at the University of Pennsylvania

Steven Philips MD – Residency, Chief Residency, CV and Heart Failure/Transplant Fellowships at University of Texas, Southwestern

Michael Valentine MD – in practice at Centra Health in Lynchburg for 30 years, Past-President of the American College of Cardiology

Filed Under: News and Notes

Tags: , , , ,