Message From Dr Mohan Nadkarni – Division Chief, General, Geriatric, Palliative and Hospital Medicine

The Division of General, Geriatric, Palliative, and hospital medicine houses a dynamic group of 83 impressive faculty dedicated to excellence in Patient Care, Education, and Research. The Division is the most clinically productive E/M based group in the department and forms the backbone of student and resident education for the SOM and IM residency training program. We are also recognized for excellence in quality improvement for the department and Medical Center.

General Medicine
Highlights of our General Internal Medicine section, led by Dr Stewart Babbott, include highly effective primary care at four different practice sites, the leadership of the Primary Care Service Line as well as the Primary Care Strategy Work Group and eConsults. Educationally this team provides direction of the Foundations of Clinical Medicine, Patient Student Partnership, and Social Issues in Medicine Preclinical student courses as well as oversight of the AIM Clerkship and multiple leaders of the Residency Training program. The Section also provides the entire continuity clinic experience for residents.

Our Geriatrics Section, newly led by Dr Justin Mutter, provides excellent care of the aging population across the continuum of care. New initiatives include both a Virginia at Home program lead by Dr Mutter, providing home-based care for complex geriatric patients, and an exciting brand new Transitions of Care/Med Reconciliation Project developed by Dr Katherine Coffey-Vega, which is improving care for hospitalized patients transitioning to local Skilled Nursing Facilities. The Geriatrics Clerkship and Residency training programs remain educationally strong.

Palliative Care
Our Palliative care section, led by Dr Leslie Blackhall, continues to provide essential services in both the inpatient and outpatient arena. The Palliative program is recognized as a national model, and demand for clinical services are mushrooming. The Section provides highly rated educational programs and rotations for students, residents, and fellows as well as a robust research agenda.

Hospital Medicine
Our Hospitalist Section, led by Dr Paul Helgerson, is a highly productive clinical team with a big focus on high-quality care for hospitalized patients. With an ever-growing need for various hospital services, the group continues to expand mightily. This group provides leadership of the Medical Subspecialties Service line and medical directorships of the General Medicine Ward Units, which have led to significant improvements in multiple inpatient medical outcomes. The Interdisciplinary Care Team led by Dr Amber Inofuentes received the Charles Brown Award for their work in improving care and decreasing inpatient admission for the complex, frequently admitted patient. Hospitalists also hold various leadership roles within programs such as the Internal Medicine Clerkship and Department of Medicine Residency Training Program.

I am proud of the many services our division provides, but more importantly, proud that each of our faculty is incredibly outstanding physicians and delightful and caring people.

We look forward to collaborating with all our colleagues in the future.


The year would be incomplete without once again acknowledging the many accomplishments of the below faculty

• Lien Dame to Associate Professor
• Kim Dowdell to Associate Professor
• Tabor Flickinger to Associate Professor
• Rachel Kon to Associate Professor
• Allison Lyons to Associate Professor
• Andy Wolf to Professor

• Leslie Blackhall, Diane Snustad Award
• Kim Dowdell, Dean’s Clinical Excellence Award
• Paul Helgerson, Friend of Nurses Award
• Rachel Kon, Dean’s Excellence in Teaching Award
• Andrew Parsons, Dean’s Excellence in Teaching Award
• Peggy Plews-Ogan, ABIM Foundation John Benson Award
• Tim Short, Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

• Laurie Archbald-Pannone
• Julia den Hartog
• Rachel Kon
• Allison Lyons

• George Hoke selected as one of eight national participants in the RWJF Clinical Value Champion Fellowship
• Sheena Mathew was chosen for the National TEACH Faculty Development Program
• Cameron Webb named one of the 40 Under 40 Leaders in Minority Health from the Congressional Black Caucus and the National Minority Quality Forum

Hospital Medicine Physicians Group

Filed Under: Notable Achievements

Tags: , , ,