ARVO Foundation: Kreissig Award for Excellence in Retinal Surgery

July 29, 2022 by


This award, established by Ingrid Kreissig, MD in 2020 with an endowment through the ARVO Foundation, recognizes the next generation of curious, enterprising investigators who seek to optimize functional outcomes for patients needing retinal surgery.

The purpose of the award is to recognize investigators who have expanded or enhanced scientific knowledge related to the understanding of:

a)    The rationale and mechanisms for a minimal approach in retinal surgery

b)    An innovative surgical approach to retinal disease

c)    The functional results after the newly developed retinal surgery

The recipient will receive a $30,000 honorarium. The first award was issued in 2021.

Now accepting applications up to Sept. 1

Apply now button

Award qualifications

This award recognizes excellence in the understanding of the mechanisms of retinal disease requiring surgical management, innovative approaches to management, and/or outcomes of surgical treatment.


Eligibility criteria include:

  • Must be a university/academic-based clinician-investigator having specialized in retina
  • Must be practicing at least 10 years as a full trained ophthalmologist specialist in the posterior segment surgery of the eye
  • Must be an ARVO member
  • Must be age 55 or younger at the time of nomination
  • There are no restrictions on citizenship, residency, sex or race

Key Dates:

Applications open on July 1

Applications close on Sept. 1

Recipients notified in December

Filed Under: Funding Opportunities