National Multiple Sclerosis Society – Barancik Prize for Innovation

May 12, 2020 by


The goal of the prize is to recognize innovation in scientific research in the field of multiple sclerosis. Nominations must be submitted on behalf an individual, or team of individuals, by one or more colleagues or mentors. Self-nominations are not permitted. Nomination letters should include current institution and contact information of the nominator and nominee. The narrative should address the nominee’s scientific accomplishments with an emphasis on citing the innovative and impactful aspects of the nominee’s work, including a maximum of 2 journal citations if appropriate.

Previous nominations are not automatically carried forward. If you wish to re-nominate a previous candidate, please update the earlier nomination with any significant developments and/or citations and resubmit.

A selection committee comprised of leaders in science, medicine, and MS advocacy will review nominees. The committee will evaluate:

• Exceptional innovation and originality in scientific research relevant to MS
• Impact and potential of the research to lead to pathways for the treatment and cure for MS
• Scientific accomplishments that merit recognition as a future leader in MS research

Nominees that exhibit these qualities will be invited to submit a final application that will include an interview by the selection committee.

Any investigator(s) active in MS research is eligible for the prize, and the nominee(s) may be from any institution or organization— public or private, government, as well as commercial entities. The award is intended for early to mid-career MS researchers. Nominees should have no more than 20 years of experience as an independent investigator or team leader to be eligible. There are no specific requirements for residency or citizenship. Nominees need not be current or past grantees of the National MS Society.

Key Dates:

Deadlines for the 2020 prize: Nominations open May 1, 2020 – and will be accepted until July 31, 2020.

Nomination letters should be emailed to

August 2020: Candidates are contacted and invited to submit materials in support of their nomination
October/November 2020: Finalists are selected to present their research to the prize committee
November/December 2020: Winner notified
February 25, 2021: Award conferred, and recipient will present the Barancik Prize plenary lecture at ACTRIMS Forum in Phoenix, Arizona

URL for more information:

Filed Under: Funding Opportunities