Congratulations, Chairs and Inaugural Committee Members of The Academy for Excellence in Education!

June 3, 2021 by School of Medicine Webmaster

school of medicine building

The Academy for Excellence in Education aims to build an inclusive learning community of educators across the biomedical sciences and UVA Health to foster and honor educational excellence at the UVA School of Medicine.

We are excited to announce the chairs and committee members for The Academy’s Membership, Educator Development, and Building Community committees. As leaders in medical education, they will be paving the path forward for The Academy. They are:

  • Membership Committee
    Chair: Tajie Harris, PhD, Associate Professor of Neuroscience
    Committee Purpose: Charged with the review and selection of new members of the Academy and promoting events to members and vetting potential programs.
  • Educator Development Committee
    Chair: Linda Waggoner-Fountain, MD, Med, Professor of Pediatrics
    Committee Purpose: Charged with the collaborative creation of educational development programs with the Center for Medical Education Research and Scholarly Innovation (MERSI) and for endorsing programs developed by other entities within the SOM.
  • Building Community Committee
    Chair: Nora Kern, MD, Associate Professor of Urology
    Committee Purpose: Charged with organizing the social and professional networking events for members of the Academy and other colleagues interested in education within the SOM.

Each committee consists of ten members: a chair, vice-chair, and eight at-large members who will serve for either 2 or 3 years. Click here to view the full committee rosters and here to see a list of current Academy members.

Drs. Harris, Waggoner-Fountain, and Kern, along with Neeral Shah, MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, Gastroenterology, and Hepatology, Director of the Academy for Excellence in Education, Harrison Distinguished Teaching Professor of Medical Education, and Maryellen Gusic, MD, Professor of Medical Education and Pediatrics, Senior Advisor for Educational Affairs, Director of MERSI, Harrison Distinguished Teaching Professor of Medical Education, will serve as The Academy’s Executive Board.

Thank you to this inaugural group of committee members and chairs for your commitment to education. And thank you to the many faculty who applied. The response to participate was robust and it was tremendous to see such a high level of engagement. We look forward to seeing how The Academy develops its programming, membership, and community in months and years to come.

R.J. Canterbury, MD, MS, DLFAPA
Wilford W. Spradlin Professor
Senior Associate Dean for Education

Susan M. Pollart, MD, MS
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Faculty Development

Filed Under: Education, Faculty