Category: Faculty

Anja Katrin Bielinsky, PhD, Appointed Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics


Anja Katrin Bielinsky, PhD, has been appointed as the new chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics effective November 15, 2022. Professor Bielinsky’s work in the field of…

49th Annual Edward W. Hook, Jr. MD Recent Advances in Clinical Medicine Conference


Registration is open for the 49th Edward W. Hook, Jr., MD Recent Advances in Clinical Medicine (RACM) conference scheduled for October 26-28, 2022 at the Omni Hotel, Charlottesville, VA and…

Date: Oct 26, 2022 - Oct 28, 2022

Start Time: 8:00 am

National Coverage for Meaghan Stumpf, MD, and Her Team About the Effectiveness of Glucose Monitors for Dialysis Patients


Assistant Professor Meaghan Stumpf, MD, and her research team received national media coverage in connection with a study published in Diabetes Care which found that off-the-shelf blood sugar monitors prove…

Vishal Madaan, MD, Recognized as Outstanding Academician


Associate Professor Vishal Madaan, MD, was awarded the 2022 Outstanding Academician Award by the Indo-American Psychiatric Association. The IAPA is the largest minority organization of the American Psychiatric Association. Dr.…

Anne Kenworthy, PhD, Receives Biological Chemistry Award


Professor Anne Kenworthy, PhD, will receive the 2023 Mildred Cohn Award in Biological Chemistry, from the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. According to ASBMB “the award recognizes and honors…

Jie Sun, PhD, Named to Editorial Boards for Two Journals: Science Advances and Journal of Medical Virology


Professor Jie Sun, PhD, began in July as associate editor for two journals: Science Advances, the American Association for the Advancement of Science's open access multidisciplinary journal, and Journal of Medical…

Zhen Yan, PhD, Wins 2022 Novo Nordisk Foundation’s Jacobæus Prize


Zhen Yan PhD, Professor of Medicine, Cardiovascular Division and the CVRC, was selected as the recipient of the Novo Nordisk Foundation’s Jacobæus Prize 2022. The Jacobæus Prize is the oldest…

Neeral Shah, MD, Publishes Infographics for Medicine


“The Infographic Guide to Medicine,” edited by Dr. Neeral Shah, is the first collection of infographics developed for medical trainees. The resource has 600 infographics covering many different areas of…