Faculty Awards 2012

A summary of Awards and National Recognitions for the Faculty at the University of Virginia School of Medicine.

National Recognition

Todd W. Bauer, MD

Leading Physicians of the World, Top Oncologists, International Association of Oncologists

Kenneth L. Brayman, MD
Distinguished Achievement Award, University of Massachusetts Amherst

David E. Bruns, MD
Joseph Roe Award, American Association for Clinical Chemistry

Alison Criss, PhD

Young Investigator Award, Interscience Conference on Antimicrobial Agents and Chemotherapy

Randolph J. Canterbury, MD

Outstanding Medical Alumnus of the University of Virginia

Edward Egelman, PhD

Distinguished Service Award, Biophysical Society

Charles M. Friel, MD

ASE Philip J. Wolfson Outstanding Teacher, Association of Surgical Education

Joanna B. Goldberg, PhD
Graduate Microbiology Teaching Award
American Society of Microbiologists

Linda Gonder-Frederick, PhD

Distinguished Alumni Award for Outstanding Contributions to Research and Clinical Practice, Clinical Health Psychology Program, Virginia Commonwealth University

Adrian Halme, PhD

March of Dimes Basil O’Connor Scholar Award

John Herr, PhD

Distinguished Alumni Award for Achievement, University of Iowa

Bruce Hillman, MD

Gold Medal, Radiological Society of North America

Stuart Howards, MD

2012 Distinguished Service Award, Society for Urodynamics and Female Urology

Paul Levine, MD

Guest of Honor, Annual Combined Sections, Meeting of the Triological Society

Valeria R. Mas, PhD

Rising Star Award, International Liver Transplant Society

Alan H. Matsumoto, MD

Gold Medal, Association of Vascular and Interventional Radiology Technologists

Eugene D. McGahren III, MD

The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

Mark Miller, MD

Elected Member, Herodicus Society

Steven A. Newman, MD

Presidential Award, Virginia Society of Eye Physicians & Surgeons

Debra G. Perina, MD

Outstanding Contribution in EMS Award, American College of Emergency Physicians

Karen S. Rheuban, MD

President’s Award for the Advancement of Telemedicine American Telemedicine Association

Bruce D. Schirmer, MD

SAGES Distinguished Service Award, Society of American Gastrointestinal and Endoscopic Surgeons

William Steers, MD

Hugh Hampton Young Award, American Urologic Association

Ronald P. Taylor, PhD

“In This Issue,” The Journal of Immunology, + 53 America’s Top Doctors & 20 America’s Top Doctors for Cancer

Rasheed Balogun, MD

National Expert Committee, American Society for Apheresis

Todd W. Bauer, MD

Program Committee Chairman, Americas Hepato Pancreato Biliary Association

Ruth Bernheim, JD, MPH

Appointed Chair, Centers for Disease Control Sub-Committee on Ethics

Donna Broshek, PhD

Member and Secretary, Board of Directors,  National Academy of Neuropsychology

James E. Casanova, PhD
Co-chair, FASEB Summer Research Conference on GTPases

Erik W. Gunderson, MD

Elected, Executive Committee (Secretary) for the Association for Medical Education and Research in Substance Abuse Fellow, American Society of Addiction Medicine

Robin Hamill-Ruth, MD

President elect, American Board of Pain Medicine (ABPM), Chair, Maintenance of Certification Committee, ABPM Executive Committee, ABPM
Board of Directors, American Academy of Pain Medicine Board of Directors, Foundation for Pain Medicine

C.D. Anthony Herndon, MD
American Urological Association (AUA) Practice Guideline Committee, AUA Urodynamic Guideline Committee, Executive Committee, Society for Fetal Urology, President, Society for Fetal Urology

Bradley Kesser, MD

Elected Chair of the Otolaryngology Neurotology Education Committee American Academy of Otolaryngology-HNSF

Tracey Krupski, MD, MPH

Vice Chair, AUA Content Review Committee

John Lazo, PhD

President, American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics

Kant Lin, MD

President, American Society of Craniofacial Surgery

Valeria R. Mas, PhD

Basic Science Committee, International Liver Transplant Society

Alan H. Matsumoto, MD

Council Steering Committee, American College of Radiology; Co-Program Chair, Annual Southeastern Angiographic Society Meeting

Victoria Norwood, MD

President-Elect, American Society of Pediatric Nephrology

Robert E. O’Connor, MD
Board of Directors, American College of Emergency Physicians; Board of Scientific Counselors, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control; CDC Subcommittee Co-Chair, International Liaison Committee on Resuscitation; American Board of Emergency Medicine Examiner

M. Norman Oliver, MD

Board of Directors, North American Primary Care Research Group; National Advisory Council of Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s; Clinical Scholars Program

Stephen Park, MD

Program Chair, Triological Society; Southern Section Meeting

Spencer Payne, MD

Ethics Committee, American Rhinologic Society

J. Kim Penberthy, PhD

Reappointed North American Representative; Cognitive Behavioral Analysis System of Psychotherapy Network International

Debra G. Perina, MD

American Board of Medical Specialties/Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education; Working Group on Maintenance of Certification CME; Society for Academic Emergency Medicine Awards Committee; American College of Emergency Medicine Awards Committee; Chair, American Board of Emergency Medicine; EMS Certification Task Force

Bruce Prum, MD

Appointed Chairman of the Knowledge Base Panel, American Academy of Ophthalmology

Emaad Abdel-Rahman, PhD

Geriatric Nephrology Advisory Board, American Society of Nephrology

Mitchell Rosner, MD

Board of Directors, Renal Physician’s Association

Robert G. Sawyer, MD

President, Surgical Infection Society

Bruce D. Schirmer, MD

President, SAGES Education & Research Foundation; Director, American Board of Surgery

Richard D. Stevenson, MD
Second Vice President, American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine

Matthew J. Trowbridge, MD

Chair, Built Environment & Transportation Subcommittee, 2012 CDC and Prevention Weight of the Nation Conference Planning Committee
Senior Advisor, Applied Research Program, Division of Cancer Control and Population Sciences, NCI, NIH


Gary Balian, PhD

Editor-in-Chief, Connective Tissue Research

Barry Gumbiner, PhD

Editorial Board, Current Opinion in Cell Biology

Robin Hamill-Ruth, MD

Chair, Editorial Committee, American Board of Pain Medication

C.D. Anthony Herndon, MD

Editorial Board & Assistant Editor, Journal of Pediatric Urology; Assistant Editor, Textbook of Pediatric Urology

Debra G. Perina, MD

Senior Editor, American Board of Emergency Medicine EMS Certification Test

Stephen S. Rich, PhD

Associate Editor, Diabetes Care

Leave a Comment